Voting by Mail FAQs

Q1. What is mail-in voting?

A1. Colorado has no-excuse mail-in (absentee) voting.  If you prefer not to go to the polls on election day, you may apply to vote by mail by submitting a completed Mail-in Ballot Application to your local county clerk. If you have a Colorado State driver's license or ID card issued by the Department of Revenue you may update your voter registration and request a mail-in ballot online at www.govotecolorado.com.  Paper voter registration forms are also available on the Secretary of State's web site.

 

Q2. What is permanent mail-in voting?

A2. If you choose to be placed on the list of Permanent Mail-in Voters, you will receive a mail-in ballot for every applicable election. Alternatively, you may ask for a mail-in ballot for a specific election or the calendar year.

 

Q3. What is the deadline for requesting a mail-in ballot?

A3. If you want a mail-in ballot sent to you by mail, your county clerk and recorder must receive your application no later than the close of business on the 7th day before the election. If you want to pick up your mail-in ballot, you must apply no later than the Friday preceding the election. If you mail your application, make sure to allow time for delivery.

 

Q4. When will I receive my mail-in ballot?

A4. Mail-in ballots will be mailed beginning 22 days before an election, after which ballots will mail be mailed within 72 hours after the receipt of a mail-in ballot application.  Once mailed, you should allow 7-10 days to receive your mail-in ballot.

 

Q5. What if I requested a mail-in ballot, but I have not received my ballot?

A5. You can confirm your voter registration information and check the status of your mail ballot online at www.govotecolorado.com.  You may also contact your county clerk for additional information.

 

Q6. If I am voting by mail, when must my mail-in ballot be received by my county clerk? Are mail-in ballots counted in the same manner as other ballots?

A6. Mail-in ballots count just like any other ballot as long as they are received by your county clerk no later than 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. Electors are encouraged to drop off ballots at designated drop off sites or mail their ballots in time to be received by the county clerk before the polls close.  Postmarks do not count.  Make sure to mail your ballot in advance of Election Day or drop off your ballot at your county clerk’s office or at established drop-off locations. Contact your county clerk’s office for drop-off locations.

 

Q7. What should I do if I make a mistake, damage, or lose my mail-in ballot?

A7. You may request a replacement mail-in ballot from your county clerk.

 

Q8. Where can I find information for military or overseas electors?

A8. Colorado citizens who are either temporarily or permanently overseas and all active military personnel, including their spouses and dependents, are eligible to vote by absentee ballot under The Uniformed and Overseas Citizens and Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) and Colorado law.   

 

 

Revised 9/28/2012